You are here: Home

Geography - Intersection between Human and Nature

 
 
Geography is a scientific discipline that combines ecological with sociological approaches and methods. With its integrative understanding, geography is particularly well placed for examining and understanding current trends such as global change, its process dynamics and the associated changes in the environment as well as in society. Geographic research is particularly concerned with investigating socio-spatial disparities and environmental destruction. At the heart of geographic research lies the motivation to better understand space-related stressors and conflicts taking place on different scales. Beyond analyzing complex problems, geographers also contribute to devising practical solutions.
 
At the University of Freiburg, the "Bachelor's Degree Programs" in geography encompass a broad-based foundation in geographic thought and analysis, including natural and social science perspectives. The "Master's Degree Program" emphasizes key research areas of geographers based at the University of Freiburg. It strives to provide students not only with relevant theoretical perspectives but also with broad methodological competencies and skills for applied research and practical work.
 
We invite you to find out more about studying geography at the University of Freiburg! Further information about our staff, their profiles and research priorities, as well as current projects, publications and events, can be accessed via the menu bar on the left.
 
 
 
News

January 2021 - M. Kempf and R. Glaser are guests at an international conference in Bern

Michael Kempf and Rüdiger Glaser give a lecture on „Conceptualization of Environmental Stressors – The Dynamics of Vulnerability, Resilience, and Adaptation Measures in the Focus of Landscape Affordances in Central Europe on Multivariate Scales“ at the international TRAVAS conference about Theorizing Resilience & Vulnertability in Ancient Studies in Bern.

November 2020 - Climate change in Saarland ... and its consequences

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Glaser in conversation with Armgard Müller-Adams on Saarland television at INTENSIV, editor in chief the Freiburg geography graduate Felix Schneider.

To see under: www.sr.de/sr/home/nachrichten/panorama/tw2020_klimawandel_im_saarland_100.html

Sie sind hier: Startseite

Geographie - Nahtstelle zwischen Mensch und Natur

 
 
Hinweise und Termine
Geographie ist eine Wissenschaft, in der sich sowohl naturwissenschaftlich-ökologische als auch gesellschaftswissenschaftliche Denkansätze und Methoden vielfach verzahnen. Mit ihrem integrativen Verständnis ist sie besonders prädestiniert, aktuelle Themen wie den Globalen Wandel, dessen Prozeßdynamiken und die damit einhergehenden Veränderungen in Umwelt, Ökologie, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft zu verstehen. Insbesondere beschäftigt sie sich mit der Untersuchung sozialräumlicher Disparitäten und Umweltschäden sowie mit raumbezogenen Stressoren und Konflikten auf unterschiedlichen Maßstabsebenen und der Entwicklung darauf bezogener Lösungsansätze.
 
Aufbauend auf einer breiten Grundausbildung in den Bachelorstudiengängen, die gesellschaftliche und naturwissenschaftliche Aspekte umfasst, fokussiert der Masterstudiengang auf Forschungsschwerpunkte der Freiburger Geographie und vermittelt hier neben theoretischen Perspektiven auch breite methodische Kompetenzen, die es erlauben, zu aktuellen Fragestellungen aus Forschung und Praxis beizutragen.
 
Informieren Sie sich auf den Seiten der Freiburger Geographie über unsere Studienangebote, lernen Sie Profile und Forschungsschwerpunkte der geographischen Professuren kennen und erfahren Sie von aktuellen Projekten, Veröffentlichungen und Veranstaltungen.
 
 
Im Fokus

November 2020 - Klimawandel im Saarland ... und seine Folgen

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Glaser im Gespräch mit Armgard Müller-Adams im Saarländischen Fernsehen bei INTENSIV, Redaktion der Freiburger Geographie Absolvent Felix Schneider.

Zu sehen unter: www.sr.de/sr/home/nachrichten/panorama/tw2020_klimawandel_im_saarland_100.html

November 2020 - Neue Publikation "Dürrekatalog für Südwest-Deutschland"

Dürren sind vielschichtige Gefahren mit weitreichenden negativen Folgen für Umwelt und Gesellschaft. Im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Forschungsnetwerkes Drier haben Erfurt et al. einen Datensatz zu vergangene Dürreereignissen in Südwestdeutschland zusammengestellt und analysiert, der aus hydrometeorologischen Messdaten, Baumringen und Auswirkungsberichten besteht. Die Open Access Publikation ist frei verfügbar unter: https://doi.org/10.5194/nhess-20-2979-2020